cms awardGreen Salute’: Indian and International Awards to the Green Filmmakers and Journalists

India’s premier environment and wildlife film festival CMS VATAVARAN successfully culminated with a glittering award ceremony on October 30 at IHC, New Delhi . There were 25 awards in 15 Indian categories and 10 awards in nine international categories. The eminent guests that were present during the award night include noted filmmaker Mr Mahesh Bhatt, Magsaysay award winner Rajender Singh, H.E Mr Bob Hiensch, Ambassador of the Netherlands to India, Mr Jahnu Baruah, director and chairperson of CMS VATAVARAN 2009 jury, Dr N Bhaskara Rao, Chairman CMS and PN Vasanti, director CMS. The welcome speech was given by Dr. Bhaskara Rao, Chairman, CMS. Mahesh Bhatt, appreciated and congratulated CMS for its persistent efforts to create awareness on environmental issues and said that this year the festival was grander in comparison to last year. This year awardees are:

CMS-UNEP Prithvi Ratna Award

Krishnendu Bose

“for his sustained and concerted efforts towards enhancing people’s understanding and spreading awareness on diverse environmental issues through films and documentaries ”

Environmental Journalist Award (Print)

Aarti Dhar, The Hindu

“for ensuring that regional, national and global environmental issues get effectively highlighted and disseminated through her thought provoking and insightful stories”

TVE AP Environmental Journalist Award (Electronic)

Pierre Fitter, NEWSX

“for his insightful, analytical and fact finding stories focusing on diverse issues related to environment and climate change”

Indian category awards

  • 25 awards in 15 Indian categories were presented in the award night.
  • Best of the Festival Award was given to ‘Deeply Superficial’ by Vineet Raj Bagga.

International category awards

  • Best of the festival award went to ‘The Soul of Water’ by Kurt Skoog. The film also won the ‘Water for all Award’ in the international category.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: